STA Students Sweep eCYBERMISSION Competition

Three teams of St. Teresa’s Academy students swept the eCYBMISSION competition with first, second, and honorable mention awards among 9th graders for the state of Missouri. This is the second year in a row that St. Teresa’s has earned the top three spots. The first place team of Clara Truebner, Alaina Durone, Georgia Terrill, and Katherine Miller was also named a regional finalist.

eCYBERMISSION is a web-based national STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math) competition for 6-9th graders sponsored by the U.S. Army Educational Outreach Program (AEOP). The competition promotes self-discovery and enables all students to recognize the real-life applications of STEM. In teams of three to four, students chose, researched, designed, created prototypes, and tested a solution to a problem in their community. 

The STA winners and their projects include:

1st Place State and Regional Finalist: Alaina Durone, Katherine Miller, Georgia Terrill, and Clara Truebner
Project: GACK lives healthy -  the team created a bottle cap that determines whether dairy is expired by using a pH strip.

The GACK lives healthy team (left to right): Clara Truebner, Alaina Durone, Katherine Miller, and Georgia Terrill

2nd Place State: Brooklyn Brizendine, Teresa Elfrink, Stella Hughes, and Juliet Parra
Project: MADOSAAT (Making a Difference One Step At a Time)
 - the team created an efficient, cost-effective, tasty, and eco-friendly product called HydroBursts that diminishes the uncomfortable symptoms of dehydration.

The MADOSAAT team (left to right): Brooklyn Brizendine, Juliet Parra, Stella Hughes, and Teresa Elfrink

Honorable Mention State: Emily Douglas, Katherine Heineman, Brynne McGhie, and Lilliana Saxe
Project: BLEK
 - The team developed an app to help high school students alleviate stress.

The BLEK team (left to right): Brynne McGhie, Lilliana Saxe, and Katherine Heineman. Not pictured: Emily Douglas

Special appreciation goes to STA staff members for their help during the competition process, including Kate Absher, Renee Blake, Carrie Jacquin, Matt Lewis, Mary Montag, Shana Prentiss, Kim Sirridge, Sarah Stranz, Alexa Varady, Jo Weller, and Jeff Zimmerman.